On January 1, 2019, the minimum wage in Florida is increasing. The minimum wage will increase from $8.25 per hour to $8.46 per hour effective January 1, 2019. The minimum wage for tipped employees will also increase from $5.23 per hour to $5.44 per hour in addition to tips.
According to Florida law, the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity is required to calculate a new minimum wage yearly, based on the increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners and Clerical Workers in the South region for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2018. For 2019, the increase is 2.59%, or $0.21.
If you own a business in Florida, you’re required to post a notice at your business. Download your free poster directly from the State of Florida here. It’s also available in Spanish and Haitian Creole.