Minimum Wage Increases are Coming in the New Year

On January 1st, the minimum wage is set to increase for millions of workers across 19 states. While the federal minimum wage isn’t changing, states, counties and cities across the country have implemented their own minimum wage rates.

The changes will impact workers in Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Maine, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, South Dakota, Connecticut, Hawaii, Michigan and Vermont. Later this year, increases will also take effect in Oregon, Washington, DC, and Maryland. Cities like Oakland, San Jose, and Seattle are also enacting their own minimum wage increases.

Here’s a handy chart from The Wall Street Journal on who will be impacted (though it doesn’t include any city-level changes):

From The Wall Street Journal


Related posts

The complete year-end payroll checklist for small businesses

Year-end payroll: It’s a doozy, especially when you’ve got so much on your plate with the holiday rush at the…

Read article

Federal labor laws: What’s new in 2022?

The start of the new year brings both new state laws and federal regulations for employers to follow. Some federal…

Read article

COVID vaccine mandates by state: requirements and bans

The federal government’s COVID vaccination requirement legislation is currently on hold. However, many state and local legislators are implementing their…

Read article

California labor laws: a list of 2022 changes

The new year will bring an onslaught of California labor law changes after a busy legislative session. From COVID-19 reporting…

Read article

5 common wage and hour mistakes every employer should avoid

As a small business owner, you know that failing to pay your employees in accordance with the Fair Labor Standards…

Read article

2022 non-compete agreement law changes by state

A non-compete agreement (or non-competition agreement) is a legal contract from an employer. It prevents an employee from entering into…

Read article